Thread: Fur buyers and backcountry hunting

Thanks

Default Fur buyers and backcountry hunting

I have 2 questions so i figured i'd put them put them both in one post:

1. Anyone have any leads on fur buyers in the local area? Coyote pelts are on the up but i can't seem to find any local furbuyers. Option 2 would be to tan them myself but that's a lot of work i don't have time for right now.

2. Anyone have any success with back country hunting around here? I know there is nowhere on VAFB that is back country but my question is more geared towards the national forest/wilderness areas around here. I prefer to get back in the rough country and spend a few days at a time back there. I've done a few hiking trips in los padres NF and seen some monster deer but i have to to see any pigs way back in. I am new to pigs so do they generally live more in the agricultural areas rather than back country?

Thanks

I believe it is illegal to sell hunted animal parts in California. ...

Thanks

You need a trapper's license to sell fur in California.

Thanks

Quote Originally Posted by dthome View Post
    You need a trapper's license to sell fur in California.
    Correct. A person needs to take the trappers test (go here for more info https://nrm.dfg.ca.gov/FileHandler.a...D=30687&inline) at a DFW regional office. After passing the test and paying the license fee (currently $117.42 for residents, $579 for non-residents), the applicant will be assigned a trapper number. This is a permanent number (like the GO number on your hunting/fishing license). Trappers must maintain a log book of their kills and turn in a copy of these logs to the DFW every year (FGC section 4008). In addition, these records are subject to inspection at any time, without a search warrant.