SCTP Reports Results of the First State Championship of the 2011 Season

Tuesday, April 5, 2011

Shelby Township, MI - The first SCTP State Team Championship of the 2011 Shooting Season was held at The Ben Avery Shooting Facility Clay Target Center in Phoenix, AZ last week.

Program Organizer Ashley Lynch reported that 145 shooters participated in this year's Championship event, which was held in conjunction with the 2011 Arizona Game & Fish Department Free Outdoor Expo on Saturday, March 26th and Sunday, March 27th. Approximately 42,000 outdoor enthusiasts (a new record attendance) were presented with dozens of exciting, hands-on outdoor recreational activities like camping, fishing, hunting, wildlife viewing, shooting sports, boating and off-highway vehicle recreation.

The Arizona Game and Fish Department sponsors the SCTP in Arizona and provides students from age 9 through Grade 12 an opportunity to learn about firearms, safety, and teamwork in a safe environment by certified shotgun coaches. Arizona has a total of 679 SCTP Athletes registered this year, which is an increase of 10% over 2010. Russ Arnold, Executive Director of the Scholastic Shooting Sports Foundation and Arizona Game & Fish Department Chairman Commissioner Woodhouse were on hand to make awards presentations to all the winners.

"The event was well run and very well organized," said Russ Arnold. "It is very apparent that Ashley has a great relationship with the coaches and parents in the Arizona program. The student athletes were exactly what you would expect to see at any SCTP event, polite, respectful, safe, and willing to help their team mates."

Varsity Squad Results

1st Ben Avery Clay Crushers - CCSP12 272
Holden Huff 95
Perry Miller 85
Tyler Encinas 92
2nd Ben Avery Clay Crushers - CCSP17 245
Michael Brooks 78
Zach Schroeder 82
Trent Mathis 85
3rd WMT Varsity Clays 1 238
Dennis Stover 93
Chance Flores 69
Tyler Barton 76

Intermediate Advanced Squad Results

1st Ben Avery Clay Crushers - CCSP4 216
Colin Neilsen 83
Hayden Hillebrand 61
Tim Lehmann 72
2nd White Mountain Clay Busters 214
Roman Ashcraft 81
Parker Jayne 68
Luke Hughes 65
3rd Ben Avery Clay Crushers - CCSP6 211
Benjamin Burch 67
Elias Bearce 53
Tyler Taylor 91

Intermediate Entry Squad Results

1st Phantom Sure Shots 179
Kyle Humbarger 53
Colton Smith 62
Ryan Schoenthaler 65
2nd Ben avery Clay Crushers - CCSP3 167
Cameron Mathis 67
Lucas Pieraccini 52
Rhett Verville 48
3rd Arizona Dust Devils 139
Keaton Bingham 42
Hunter Cormier 56
Zeben Foltz 41

Junior Varsity Squad Results

1st Ben Avery Clay Crushers - CCSP8 235
Justin Dombrowski 82
Nathaniel Moreno 63
Stephen Fuller 90
2nd Huachuca Hot Shots 229
William Ponder 77
Adrian Cottam 71
Christopher Houchins 81
3rd Arizona Dust Devils - JV1 218
Trevor Richards 74
Austin Madson 81
Derek Shaull 63

Rookie Squad Results

1st White Mountain Clay Busters 142
Connor Barton 61
Skyler Jayne 38
Troy Hill 43
2nd Ben Avery Clay Crushers - CCSP2 133
Caleb Bearce 63
Jason Horn 35
James Stacker 35

3rd Ben Avery Clay Crushers - CCSP1 132
Andrew Penrod 47
Alex Pieraccini 46
Jesse Lehman 39

The Arizona SCTP Trap State Team Championship is scheduled for April 23rd at Tucson Trap and Skeet in Tucson and The Arizona Skeet SCTP State Team Championship is scheduled for May 7th at The Ben Avery Shooting Facility in Phoenix.

The Scholastic Shooting Sports Foundation exists to raise funding and other resources for Youth Development Programs in the shooting sports industry.

SCTP is a youth development program where adult coaches and volunteers model sportsmanship, responsibility, honesty, ethics, integrity, and team work while using shooting sports programs to teach these and other positive life skills to SCTP athletes.

To learn more about SCTP call (586) 737-0805 or visit their website at

Joe Wieczorek (847) 956-9090 or