Thread: My First Off Duty Weapon

Thanks

Default My First Off Duty Weapon

I have been a peace officer for over 2 years now and I have finally ordered me an off duty pistol to carry on my person. I went with the Glock 17. I know its the standard size, but the Glock 19 had only a 1/2 shorter barrel. I plan on shooting it alot. If later on down the road I think I need one smaller in size I may go with the Glock 19.
    Attached Images Attached Images

Thanks

I have a 19 for off duty carry along with the 27 for a back up pocket gun! I carry the 35 on duty! You might wanna pick up something small for discrete carry, the 17 may be alittle big and draw too much attention. Good luck!

Thanks

Great weapon. A little big for concealed carry depending on what type of concealed carry system you use.

I carry the Kimber Ultra carry .45. I bought it with night sights and laser grips and am very happy with its conceal ability. It is limited to seven rounds though.

I have some deep concealment systems that allow me to wear shorts, t shirt and sandals and nobody has ever noticed. I have had family members that know I carry ask if I was armed or not.
    My dogs hunt I just give them a ride.

http://www.camospace.com/Fishnhuntforever

Thanks

Hey whats up dude!! I like the Glock 27 use it when hunting too..

Thanks

I went down to gun shop today and played with the 17 and 19 today. I really like how 17 fits my hand. I really couldn't tell much of a difference when I tried different ways of concealing. The 17 is only less than a 1/2" shorter.

Thanks

Here are a couple of links to a great summertime concealment option:

Thunderwear: Holsters Gun Holsters

SmartCarry - Concealed Gun Holsters

I own the thunderwear holster system. I have the federal model and it holds my full size Smith and Wesson sigma series just fine. Of course it is not as comfortable as my Kimber because of the size.