View Full Version : Blacktail pics
hicountry
07-17-2003, 07:35 PM
Hey guys i have a samll blacktail hunting website.Iwould love to post you blacktal pictures and/or stories.U can email them to me at thejackal@hotmail.com.
hicountry
blackhawkdestroyer.tripod.com
http://www.jesseshunting.com/forums/style_emoticons/<#EMO_DIR#>/banana-man-yeah.gif
niels
07-18-2003, 05:55 PM
hicountry, I just checked out your site, I also have a site called "California Blacktail Deer Hunting" I see that you used one of my pictures, I would've appreciated an email asking me for permission to use my pictures on your site, I understand that your only 16 years old, but another thing that really got me was your book review of blacktail trophy tactics 2, that book is the best selling blacktail book ever made, and is extremely well done. I will direct Boyd to your comments, and also notify the owner of blacktailcountry.com whom I know very well that you used his pictures as well. In the future I would suggest that you obtain permission before using other peoples pictures for your site. At the very least if you are going to use other peoples pictures give credit to the site that you got them from.
Boar Tracks CA
07-18-2003, 07:16 PM
I'm glad to see young hunters excited about deer hunting. He should learn more about web sites and their construction, but give the kid a break, you could have PM or Email him instead of capping on him on JHP. Plus I thought internet usage has not yet been totally regulated. I wish there were more kids out there interested in hunting as this young man is.
SGT Lowell Kreider
Camp Roberts Hunting and Fishing Program Coordinator
http://www.jesseshunting.com/forums/style_emoticons/<#EMO_DIR#>/smiley_flameout.gif
niels
07-18-2003, 07:35 PM
Boar tracks, I apologize if I came across a little harsh, I too am very glad to see young hunters get involved with the outdoors and hunting, I still think an email would of been appropriate, Personally I don't have a problem with someone using my pictures, but someone might have a problem with it, all I wanted was maybe a little mention of my site, that's all.
Speckmisser
07-18-2003, 08:56 PM
Niels was a lot nicer than some people would've been. Copyright DOES apply, not to mention simple etiquette. Most website owners would gladly give permission to reuse an image, unless that image cost them money.
I give the kid the benefit of the doubt, due to his age, but I don't think a public rebuke is totally out of line here. It's a good reminder to all would-be webmasters to think before appropriating graphics without permission.
On a nicer note... Glad to see another potential source of blacktail information on the web. There are some great sites out there already, but there's always room for a couple more. http://www.jesseshunting.com/forums/style_emoticons/<#EMO_DIR#>/thumbs-up-ani.gif
Dan BTC
07-18-2003, 11:49 PM
I have to agree with Niels and Specmisser on this one. It is proper "netiquette" to ask before using pictures off of anothers site. Two of the photos were borrowed from my site. I must admit I was very surprised to see them on there. I am not picking on the young man that made the site, there are just certain things you don't do in web design, and number one is you don't use someone else's work without permission. If he would have asked me I would have gladly said yes.
As for your site I am always glad to see another Blacktail site. For far too long they have been over looked. If there is any thing I can do to give you a hand just let me know. I am always willing to help up and coming web designers.
Dan
the4dranch@adelphia.net
Cda55
07-19-2003, 12:15 AM
Dan BTC,
I'm glad you see it that way. I think it would be another story if he was making $$ from it. We all love our sport. But, like you said, web design, is a job to a lot of people. http://www.jesseshunting.com/forums/style_emoticons/<#EMO_DIR#>/smiley-faces-toast-beers.gif to you for taking that step of wanting to help. I'm sure he didn't intend on any harm.
Raully
07-19-2003, 11:55 AM
His Website seems a little negative to me. Just read his reviews. Hes sixteen but talks like he knows it all in his product and book review. I am glad to see his enthusiasm towards Blacktail hunting though. Hopefully he will take this as constructive critizism.
CrossTimbers
07-19-2003, 11:58 AM
Wonder if the original authors of the Chronic Wasting, Lyme, and other info on Niels site would react the same way he did!
Tough to police this stuff, I've had my stuff outright plagiarized, & I think it goes with the territory of putting it on the web -- worse when they take your pics and make them their own with photoshop edits.
Hicountry-- that is one cool "mouse trailer" you got-- I had never seen that, fun to watch it move around the screen.
niels
07-19-2003, 05:30 PM
Wonder if the original authors of the Chronic Wasting, Lyme, and other info on Niels site would react the same way he did!
Could you please clarify what you meant by this, I'm a little confused, are you saying that I overreacted? Like Dan was saying earlier if he would of just asked me I would of been glad to allow him to use pictures from my site. Actually I wouldn't of even cared if he asked for permission or not, if he would of at least mentioned that he took them from my site, and maybe a little plug saying to check out my site.
niels
07-19-2003, 05:47 PM
Crosstimbers, I think you may have mistaken my site for blacktailhuntn.com, because I don't cover deer related diseases on my site, my site can be seen by clicking on the WWW icon on the bottom of this post next to the email icon. Thanks.
Boar Tracks CA
07-19-2003, 06:27 PM
neils , sorry if I cam off hard but or youth is all we have to keep hunting going. I have been in hunting related jobs for 25 years from DFG to Military hunting progams CA state wide. Ive hunted in just about every country the military is in and more. I just hope that more youths will get to know more about hunting, because without them I don't have a job in the future. I do know that he did get pics and other info without permission. But the copyright law says about "The fair use doctrine" The fair use doctrine provides for limited use of copyrightd materials for educational and research purposes without permission from the owners. Now if he was going to make money from it , yea I would be upset. But he is just a young hunter trying to help others. Now I still have not been able to get to his site to see it ,but I do hope that he will ask for pics and other info before he posts them. I would be glade to help him anyway that I can, as I hope that all of you would.
SGT Lowell Kreider
Camp Roberts Hunting and Fishing Coordinator
niels
07-19-2003, 07:04 PM
I would also be willing to help him anyway I can, all I'm saying and as you have referred to, is in the future it would be nice if he asked his fellow website designers for permission for it's the right thing to do. His site is called blackhawkdestroyer.tripod.com (not exactly sure what that name has to do with blacktail hunting) you can either copy and paste the link or type it in your web browser by hand and hit enter or go. Take care.
Boar Tracks CA
07-19-2003, 07:29 PM
OK NEILS you win I just got to his site and boy oh boy he does slam your friend. He did do a good job for a kid, but it would have been better if he lives in blacktail country that HE could take some pics of the deer in his area, but you do have to admit that he did a nice job on his layout.
Sorry LK
CrossTimbers
07-19-2003, 09:33 PM
Neils-- my mistake on the website- don't know you, so wouldn't pretend to opine whether your reaction is reasonable or not -- no criticism meant -- everybody borrows web stuff & ideas. CT
niels
07-20-2003, 12:11 PM
Fair enough CT,
Boar Tracks, Yes, he did do a good job for a youngun! lol
and a BIG 10-4 on him going out and taking some pictures or videotaping bucks in his area, I can't think of a better thing that a 16 year old could be doing than spending time in the great outdoors, as a matter of fact he should be out scouting right now, if not he is grounded for a week, lol
Originally posted by raully@Jul 19 2003, 10:55 AM
Hes sixteen but talks like he knows it all in his product and book review.
[quote]
Sounds like a typical 16 year old http://www.jesseshunting.com/forums/style_emoticons/<#EMO_DIR#>/smiley-rolleyes-green.gif
One Track
07-22-2003, 10:55 AM
I can't pull the kid's website. Did it get pulled already. I'm tyrying www.blackhawkdestroyer.tripod.com.
Dunno,
Speckmisser
07-22-2003, 11:33 AM
Hmm... looks like he pulled it. You need to enter the URL without the www for the site.
cincoflatspirate
07-22-2003, 01:38 PM
To quote my good friend Roy Damn Mercer, " I THINK AN ASS WHOOPIN' IS IN ORDER!" hehe
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.1.7 Copyright © 2013 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.