PDA

View Full Version : Huge Mtn Lion

DonMartin
02-24-2003, 12:39 AM
Jim,

You probably recognize me from AR and other message boards from around the web. We've talked back and forth from time to time, but I recently got an email from a friend in Washington that appears to show YOU with a ridiculously huge Mtn lion.

Send me an email with the story, I'd love to hear more about this giant cat.

If people knew there were predators like that out there, they would just stay home!!

Thanks,
Don Martin
EndlessSafari.com
dcm122170@worldnet.att.net

jjhack
02-24-2003, 08:29 AM
You know it's a strange thing to me. I have been an outdoor writer for 20 years and done 100's of articles for many different magazines. Once in a while Sombody I meet will recognize my name but nobody ever knows who I am when they see me. I guess all my public events are radio, and text with very few public speaking events. Most folks reading an article don't give a rip about the author unless he writes something they really think is stupid. Then they say "what idiot wrote this" and look for the name. When it's a good bit of info they just blow it by. Right? I do that too!

However since the lion everyone seems to know who I am now. I get Emails like this every day, no joke EVERY SINGLE DAY! i get Email saying hey this photo looks like you? did you shoot this "ridiculously huge Mtn lion."

Amazing that 20 years as a writer nobody recognises you, but one big lion and everyone does! I had a fella down the road from me knock on my door last week and say he got this photo in Email and wondered if I was a hunter. I asked him to take another couple steps into the hous and look. His jaw dropped when he saw the walls filled with game from around the world. He was not a hunter but heard the lion was killed near his home, and he recognised me from driving down the road seeing me around the house, I guess.